Google has started automatically upgrading Google Place listings from their old platform to the new Google Places dashboard.
If Google detects that your business has a duplicate listing, they will send out this email asking for your help:
We’d like to inform you that Google Places no longer accommodates more than one authorized owner per business location. Your account contains one or more listings that have been identified as duplicated of other listings and as a result, some of the information you provide will not be shown to Google users anymore.
Many businesses now have accounts on Google Places, Google Plus, and Google Plus business listings. Google Places and Google Plus are now one. That means if you claimed your Places listing through your Plus Account in the past, you may have a duplicate listing in your Local dashboard.
Normally your claimed listing will be labelled “Claimed,” and if you have a duplicate it will be unclaimed. If your duplicate doesn’t have any reviews or other important information that Google pulled through, then it’s safe to go ahead and delete it and keep your “Claimed” page. However, if your duplicate listing has all of your old reviews, you’ll need to call the Google Places Team support centre.
Unlike internal duplicates that appear on the dashboard, external duplicates appear on maps, places, and local business listings. To clean these up, edit the business listing by clicking on the About Us Tab and then Edit Business Information at the bottom of the “Contact Information” section.
Once you click “Edit Business Information,” you can check the option suggesting the Places page is a duplicate of another and leave comments to prove your assumption. It’s a good idea to leave a link to the other duplicate listing. The duplicate listing should then be fixed by Google.
Watch Google closely to ensure that your profiles get properly merged into one. For more information on the topic, you can check out an answer on Google’s forum from Google Employee Jade.
~ Samantha Goettel